What's the ending of stranger things?

As ash falls from the sky, plants and flowers die and rot and red lightning crackles through the smoke coming from Hawkins, Eleven realises that Vecna's plan worked after all. Max did die for long enough to open the gateway, and now the Upside Down and all its monsters are coming to the real world.