Is there such thing as a motor?

an engine is an device which converts some form of energy (chemical or electrical, for instance) into mechanical energy. electrical devices are more commonly referred to as motors. sometimes the term motor is used to refer to an engine which supplies motive power to a vehicle such as an automobile.