How many ribs are in the human skeleton?

The human rib cage is made up of 12 paired rib bones, a few individuals have 13 or 11 pairs. The idea that men have fewer ribs than women is widespread but wrong, perhaps deriving from the biblical story of Eve being made from one of Adam's ribs.