How was halloween created?

2,000 years ago in Ireland, Halloween has its origins in the Celtic holiday of Samhain - a druidic festival held between October 31 eve and sunset the following day. believed that during this night, the separation between the worlds of the living and the dead softened.

---

Halloween's origins date back to the ancient Celtic festival of Samhain (pronounced sow-in). ... On the night of October 31 they celebrated Samhain, when it was believed that the ghosts of the dead returned to earth.