How long do you cook steelhead trout for?

If you are cooking steelhead trout on the stove, the general rule of thumb is to cook it for six minutes per inch of thickness. If you are using a grill or smoker, cook the fish at 225 degrees Fahrenheit for six to eight minutes per inch of thickness.