Who wrote the nutcracker suite?

The Nutcracker suite music was written by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. Marius Petipa and Lev Ivanov designed the dances you see in the show. The Nutcracker was first performed at the Mariinsky Theatre in St. Petersburg, Russia, on December 18, 1892 but was not a great success.