How to clean leeks?

The easiest way to clean leeks is to remove the root end and as much of the dark green part as you wish. Split the leek lengthwise. Slice across the halves or lengthwise to produce pieces the size and shape you want. Rinse the results in a colander or sieve to remove the dirt or sand.