Who is marvels deathlok?

Colonel Luther Manning is an American soldier from Detroit, Michigan, who, after being fatally injured, is reanimated in a post-apocalyptic future (originally 1990) only to discover that what remains of his dead body has been turned into the experimental Deathlok cyborg by Simon Ryker.