Can you eat the vein in a shrimp?

If you were to eat the shrimp raw, the thin black “vein” that runs through it could cause harm. That's the shrimp's intestine, which, like any intestine, has a lot of bacteria. But cooking the shrimp kills the germs. So it's all right to eat cooked shrimp, “veins” and all.