What is the purpose of spiders?

The first arachnids truly considered spiders were from the Carboniferous period and members of the Mesothelae suborder. Spiders exist in an important place in the food chain, controlling insect populations by eating hundreds of insects over their lifetimes. They might also exist to bother humans.