Can you freeze uncooked asparagus?

Technically, you can freeze raw, fresh asparagus by just placing the spears in a freezer bag and sealing tightly. However, it is not recommended to freeze asparagus without blanching it first. Asparagus easily loses color and texture, and the additional step of blanching prevents these losses