How many police officers are in new york city?

The New York City Police Department (NYPD) is the largest and one of the oldest police departments in the United States, with approximately 36,000 officers.

---

NYPD is the largest and one of the oldest municipal police departments in the United States, with approximately 36,000 officers and 19,000 civilian employees.