What is a mouse droid?

Mouse droids appear in the Star Wars film franchise. Mouse droids perform small repairs, deliver messages, and guide visitors aboard starships and in military and corporate facilities, often while beeping to themselves and occasionally exploding into panicked squeals when confused or frightened.