How much longer is the sun going to last?

The sun will probably last for about another 5 billion years. But over time, the radiation from the sun increases, causing changes on the earth that will eventually kill all plant life, and then animal life. It is estimated that in about 1 billion years, the earth will no longer sustain life.

---

Astronomers estimate that the sun has 7 billion to 8 billion years left. In 5 billion years, it will run out of hydrogen and become a Red Giant star. 1 billion years after that, it will run out of helium and become a White Dwarf star. 1 to 2 billion years after that, it will die completely.