Do air plants need sun?

according to pistals nursery.com,In order to thrive, air plants need bright, indirect light. Rooms with southern or eastern facing windows make good candidates, because these spaces will be brightly illuminated with sun for most of the day. ... Full spectrum fluorescent light is a must.