What is paleo magnetism?

Paleo magnetism is the residual magnetic field in rocks. The field in the rock is aligned to the earth's magnetic field present at the time the rock was formed. Since the earths magnetic field changes orientation over time, older rocks can be dated based on the direction of the field in them.