What is the biggest piranha in the world?

The largest true piranha is the San Francisco piranha (Pygocentrus piraya), also known as the black piranha or black-tailed piranha. Native to the Sao Francisco River basin in Brazil, this aggressive omnivore grows to more than 13 inches long and weighs up to 7 pounds.

---

The largest known species is the San Francisco piranha, also called the piraya piranha or black piranha. The San Francisco piranha (Pygocentrus piraya) average weight is around 5 to 8 lbs (2.2 to 3.6 kg). They regularly measure between 12 to 14 inches (30.4 to 35.5 cm).