What animal is a sagittarius?

Sagittarius, the ninth astrological sign, is represented by the half human and half horse centaur of mythology. Greek mythology associates Sagittarius with the centaur Chiron, who mentored Achilles in archery. This is why the symbol for Sagittarius is often a bow and arrow.