Why are potstickers called potstickers?

Why are they called potstickers? A chef was boiling dumplings, and he forgot about the pot on the stove. All of the water boiled off, and the dumplings were stuck to the bottom of the pot (hence the name potsticker). He served them anyways and they were a huge hit.