Tell me about the show monk?

Monk is about a homicide detective with an eidetic memory. Following the murder of his wife, Adrian Monk is placed on psychiatric leave by the police department due to his obsessive-compulsive disorder and phobias. Hoping to return to his job, Monk works as a freelance detective and consultant.