What is the story of pompeii?

Pompeii was destroyed by the eruption of the volcano vesuvius in AD 79. With the destruction of Pompeii and Herculaneum 2000 roman citizens were killed.

---

Pompeii was an ancient city located near modern day Naples, Italy. Pompeii was buried under 4 to 6 m (13 to 20 ft) of volcanic ash and pumice in the eruption of Mount Vesuvius in AD 79. Largely preserved under the ash, the excavated city provides a unique snapshot of ancient Roman life.