Tell me about the knights of ren?

By the end of the Last Jedi, the Resistance was all but annihilated. The Knights of Ren were to be the final attack force, the final soldiers to defeat the Rebellion for the First Order. They were merely the last thing between Rey, Ben, and the Emperor in the Sith Citadel.