Why do cats chew on cardboard boxes?

There could be many reasons, some of the most common include teething, predatory behavior, marking, and even dietary deficiency and compulsive disorder. Cats enjoy chewing many things such as cardboard boxes, book covers, flip flops, wooden spoons, and others.