What is finster mean?

The name Finster comes from the German finster, meaning 'dark', 'gloomy', or from the Yiddish fintster (Middle High German vinster) which means basically the same. The name may have referred to a person's habitual character, or it may have been acquired as a result of some now irrecoverable anecdote