What is ice cream float?

An ice cream float or ice cream soda, is a chilled beverage that consists of ice cream in either a soft drink or a mixture of flavored syrup and carbonated water. When root beer and vanilla ice cream are used together to make the beverage, it is typically referred to as a root beer float.