What are u. s. coins made out of?

Dimes, nickles, quarters, and half dollars, are now made from alloys and composites of copper and nickel. Pennies, since 1982, have been made of copper plated zinc. Current dollar coins are made of copper, clad with brass. Coins larger than 5 cents, dated before 1965, were made of 90 percent silver.