What caused the mariana trench?

The Mariana Trench was formed through a process called subduction. Earth's crust is made up of comparably thin plates that “float” on the molten rock of the planet's mantle. While floating on the mantle, the edges of these plates slowly bump into each other and sometimes even collide head-on.