What is the definition of an orthopedic?

Orthopedic relates to the branch of medicine dealing with the correction of deformities of bones or muscles. Orthopedic surgeons are devoted to the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of disorders of the bones, joints, ligaments, tendons and muscles.