Is it macaroon or maccarone?

It is a difference in pronunciation. They are not both pronounced like “macaroon.” Macarons are French, and anyone who has studied the French language knows that the French do not have the “ooh” sound in their language, but rather an “aw” sound, as in the word “gone.”