What is dragon rider?

Dragon Rider (original title: Drachenreiter) is a 1997 German children's novel by Cornelia Funke. Originally translated by Oliver Latsch, Dragon Rider was published in English in 2004 by The Chicken House in the UK and Scholastic Inc. in the US, using a translation by Anthea Bell.