Do green tomatoes turn red?

There are two types of green tomatoes, those that are green when ripe, and unripe tomatoes. Green tomatoes when ripe often have vertical stripes, feel soft when, and will taste like a red tomato. Unripe (red) tomatoes will be pale green, feel nearly solid and will have a more acidic or tart flavor.