How do you blanch squash?

To blanch squash, wash the squash and cut it into quarter-inch thick rounds. Steam or boil the cut up squash for three to five minutes, then plunge the squash into a prepared bowl of ice water to stop the cooking process. Drain the squash, place it in airtight packaging, and freeze it.