What is a roasting chicken?

By definition, a roasting chicken is slightly older than a fryer or broiler chicken, but it is still the same breed of chicken. A roaster has a slightly thicker layer of fat, which keeps the bird moist as it roasts and allows it to develop a nice, crispy skin when cooked at a high heat in the oven.