Why is the seagull called a seagull?

The term, “seagull,” is a colloquialism that refers to many gulls. not to any one specific species. It’s believed that gulls who live near the sea and along coastlines came to be called seagulls by association. However, many gulls live in different environments and some never venture near the sea.