What are the attacks of september eleventh?

September 11, 2001 involved four hijackings of major airplanes by Al-Quaeda, two flown into the twin towers in New York. One into the Pentagon in Washington, D.C. The last was stopped when the passengers retook control and flew the plane into the ground in Shanksville, Pennsylvania