What is hot gas?

Gas is a substance or matter in a state in which it will expand freely to fill the whole of a container, having no fixed shape (unlike a solid) and no fixed volume (unlike a liquid). Hot is a temperature, so it is more relative. Gas that is over room temperature would probably be considered hot.