What is dragon boat festival?

The Dragon Boat Festiva is a traditional Chinese holiday which occurs on the fifth day of the fifth month of the Chinese calendar, which corresponds to late May or June in the Gregorian calendar. Its purpose is linked to the idea that illness and misfortune occur on that day.