When are dogs not puppies anymore?

Puppies mature into adult dogs at different ages depending on breed — smaller dog breeds mature at a younger age than larger dog breeds. Growth from puppy to adult dog occurs physically, sexually and emotionally with physical maturation occurring first and emotional maturity occurring last.