What makes up canada?

Canada is the United States' northern neighbor. The average border with the U.S. is at latitude 48 degrees, 59 minutes, 51 seconds. This is roughly 270 meters, or 886 feet, south of the modern 49th parallel, so if you just say the border is at the 49th parallel you'll be mostly correct.