What is the fastest land speed record?

Monday 15 October marked 21 years since Thrust SSC set the current land-speed record of 1,227.985 km per hour (763.035 mph) in Nevada's Black Rock Desert. The land-speed record, aka the fastest car on Earth, remains one of the benchmarks of technological development.