Who is the watermelon man?

"Watermelon Man" is a jazz standard written by Herbie Hancock for his debut album, Takin' Off (1962). Hancock's first version was released as a grooving hard bop record, and featured improvisations by Freddie Hubbard and Dexter Gordon. A single reached the Top 100 of the pop chart.