Can lava melt everything?

No, while lava is hot, it's not hot enough to melt the rocks on the side of or surrounding the volcano. So by the time it's out of the volcano, lava is generally not quite hot enough to melt the rocks it flows over. But lava flows can set fire to grass, bushes, and trees.