Where does heather come from?

Heather flowers commonly grow in northern and western Europe, Turkey, and Morocco, and have been naturalized in parts of North America. It is especially popular in Scotland. Heather typically grows in shades of pink, white and purple and commonly mean good luck, admiration, and protection.