What's the difference between light brown sugar and dark brown sugar?

The ingredient that separates brown sugar from the others is molasses, added after white sugar is refined. The darker the brown sugar, the more molasses it contains. For light brown sugar, that usually means 3.5% molasses.

---

Dark brown sugar contains more molasses than light brown sugar, giving it a darker color.