How big is a rick of firewood?

A rick of firewood is 4 feet high and 8 feet long. If the wood was cut 16 inches long and is stacked 4 feet high by 8 feet long, the rick will be one third of a cord. If these same logs were cut 24 inches long, the rick would equal one half cord.