What is a gala therion?

galathilion is from The Lord of the Rings books and movies. It's the White Tree made by Yavanna for the Elves of the city of Tirion. From it came Celeborn, the White Tree of Tol Eressëa, through which it became the ancestor of all the White Trees of Númenor and Middle-earth.