What does the letter e. stand for?

e in math refers to the irrational Euler's number. Euler's number has digits that go on forever in a series that never ends or repeats, similar to pi. It's used to calculate compounding interest, the rate of radioactive decay, and the amount of time it takes to discharge a capacitor.