What is a removable discontinuity?

Discontinuities occur in algebra when a variable can take on a value that will result in division by zero. A removable discontinuity occurs when a factor in the denominator may be cancelled out by a common factor in the numerator. The result is a hole in the graph, rather than an asymptote.