How many states are there in the whole entire world?

There are 195 countries in the world today. This total comprises 193 countries that are member states of the United Nations and 2 countries that are non-member observer states: the Holy See and State of Palestine. Not included in this total of 195 countries are: Taiwan, The Cook Islands and Niue.