Is it pronounced macaroon or macaron?

Both. A Macaroon is a cookie that uses coconut as an ingredient. A Macaron is a small round cake with a meringue like consistency using two halves like a sandwich cookie and a creamy filling inside. Typically, they do not contain coconut.